Good morning my loves!

If you have a keen eye you’ll have notice that this was actually posted at end of last week, without having actually finished writing the post, whoopsie! Anyway, here it is, the actual post, my March 2019 reading wrap-up! I read a really good number of books this month.

Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney
This was the second book by Sally Rooney that I read, and while I did really, really enjoy it, it didn’t quite hit the 5 star mark like Normal People did. I found the relationship between Frances and Nick really interesting, even though I did find myself getting frustrated with Frances on occasion. 4/5 stars.

Toffee by Sarah Crossan **
I’ve read so many things by Sarah Crossan and she never fails to amaze me. Similarly to her other books, Toffee is written in verse and packs such a punch for the few words it contains. Toffee tells the story of Marla, an elderly lady whose memory isn’t as it used to be. Allison makes a run from her abusive father and finds herself drawn to and living with Marla, who mistakes her for someone named Toffee. A fantastic book and I would recommend to everyone. 5/5 stars.

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffery Eugenides
A bit of a cult classic that I knew nothing about but knew I wanted to read. Trigger warning for suicide. The Virgin Suicide tells the story of 5 sisters, overprotected and sheltered, who are let out on one date where suddenly everything falls apart and all 5 sisters commit suicide. A dark tale that could disturb, I really enjoyed this one, 5/5 stars.

Proud curated by Juno Dawson **
To put it simply, there needs to be a copy of this book in every school library. A wonderful collection of verse, prose and illustrations all done by incredible LDBTQIA+ creators. 4/5 stars.

 

The Quiet at the End of the World by Lauren James **
I was lucky enough to get an early copy of this book at the March Swansea Bloggers Collective. After reading The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James, I had a feeling I would enjoy this one too. Now, while her previous book was a sci-fi and this a dystopian, I loved them book equally. A virus has caused global infertility and Lowrie and Shen are the youngest people on the planet. The question is, who do they save and who do they sacrifice? 5/5 stars.

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
I’d had my eye on this one for a while and after it was long-listed for the Women’s Prize this year, I bumped it up my TBR. An American Marriage explores race, love, loyalty, justice and what it means to be a black man and a black woman in the 21st century. Loved this and wouldn’t be at all disappointed if this won the Women’s Prize. 5/5 stars.

Come Rain or Come Shine by Kazuo Ishiguro
A lovely little short story from the Faber Shorts collection that they released early in the year. Ray visits old friends Emily and Charlie and is tasked with the mission of being his usual useless self, so that Emily will think more highly of Charlie. A snapshot of domestic realism that while I did enjoy, didn’t blow me away. 3/5 stars.

4.50 from Paddington by Agatha Christie
I do love an Agatha Christie, particularly when it features Mrs Marple. I always get a nostalgic feeling when I read one, it’s cosy and twee and I love it. 4.50 from Paddington sees Mrs Marple try to solve a crime, a murder, but the first riddle she needs to solve, did the murder even happen? 4/5 stars.

 

The Afterwards by A F Harrold
After loving The Imaginary written by A F Harrold and illustrated by Emily Gravett, I knew I needs to read this one. This one is a tale of friendship and explores the lengths we would go to for the people we love. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, I ‘d recommend this if you’re looking for a quick, impactful book. 4/5 stars.

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi **
This is not an easy book to read, let me just say that. This one is very literary and touches on African culture and mythology, sense of self and identity and what makes us who we are. Given that this is a short read, at only just over 200 pages, it took me longer to read than I expected. I put that down to the beautifully lyrical writing style. I really did love this and am so glad that a non-binary person has finally been long-listed for The Women’s Prize. 5/5 stars

The Trauma Cleaner by Sarah Krasnostein
The Trauma Cleaner tells the absolutely remarkable story of the life of Sandra Pankhurst; husband, father, drag queen, sex worker, wife. I’d had this book on my TBR for a while but once it had been long-listed for this years Wellcome Prize, I knew I needed to read it soon. I really did enjoy this book, a lot, the only criticism I have is that it often felt like the author worshiped Sandra, and sometimes that felt a little over the top. I did give this one 4/5 stars however.

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl
You may already know that I’m part of a buddy-reading group. We’ve been doing this for over a year now and I can’t see us stopping any time soon. This months pick was Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl. I have to say that, while I had owned this book for a while and I found the premise intriguing, I didn’t really put it at the top of my list. That’s the great thing about buddy-reading, the group pushed me to pick up a owned book that I hadn’t read. The question is, who will survive the Neverworld Wake? 5/5 stars.

 

Lanny by Max Porter
This is the second book from the author Max Porter, whose incredible debut, Grief is the Thing with Feather blew me away. Lanny was no different. Weaving folklore, the unlikely friendship between a young boy and an artist and the length they will go to find Lanny, when he uncharacteristically goes missing. Bloody brilliant book. Read it. 5/5 stars.

The Clockmakers Daughter by Kate Morton
I’ve been naughty with this one. This was another of the buddy-read books that I took ages and ages to finish, and ended up way behind everyone else. I don’t know why it took my so long to finish, because I really loved the book, its characters and the premise. On top of that, it was written in my favourite writing style; beautifully lyrical. A beautiful historical fiction that follows the story of a house set close to the Thames. The house and the people that are connected to it are woven into this multi-timelined, multi-perspective book. Savour it. 4/5 stars.

 

March Blog Tours

 

Blog Tour: Last Ones Left Alive by Sarah Davis-Groff **

Blog Tour: Are You The F**king Doctor? by Dr Liam Farrell **

Blog Tour: In Exile by Alexandra Turney **

 

And there we have it folks! The books that I read in the month of March. Have you read any of these books? I’d love to chat to you about them in the comments!

Peace and pages
Amy
X

2 thoughts on “March 2019 Wrap-Up

  1. Ooh, congratulations! You’ve been really productive this month! I have some books on my TBR list that you’ve read this month, The Clockmaker’s Daughter, Come rain or come shine, An american marriage, The quiet at the end of the world and Conversations with friends XD Quite a few!

    Like

  2. You had one amazing March!!! There are so many wonderful books on here that I want to read but the top of my want-list is absolutely The Trauma Cleaner. I am always intrigued by this line of work and it sounds like a multi-leveled book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s